Posted by: Beth | June 9, 2013

MRIN-70 Christian Peters and Hannah Ball

Christian Peters and Hannah Ball

My (possible) 5th great grandparents

MRIN-70

Please keep in mind that this is research in progress. I am working on gathering as many of the documents, stories and pictures as possible to put together as much of an accurate story about their lives as I can. Don’t take anything as fact until it is verified.

The story is that, Christian Peters, a well to do, much older and married man had a long term affair with Hannah Ball. It is said that her first two children, Joseph and Nancy Ball, and possibly her third child, William, were the children of Christian Peters. I’ve even seen a version of this story that says that Christian and his wife raised and educated John and Nancy.

It is important to point out that the relationship between Christian Peters and Hannah Ball, at this point, is unverifiable (by me anyway).  There is no paper trail that I can find or know of documenting that Christian Peters was the father of any of Hannah Ball’s children. The following is a story that has been going around for awhile. If you know of any sources, please, please let me know.  I want accurate information so that I can have an accurate family history.

Update 09 Jun 2013: I have received my first AncestryDNA match to a direct descendant (the 4th great grandchild) of Conrad Peters, son of Christian Peters. The match has us at 6th cousins. This match is listed as a very low confidence match. We did share a few common surnames, but the common ancestor in both of our family trees is Christian Peters. This is in no way proof that Christian was the father of any of Hannah’s children, simply just another possibility.

  

Christian Peters *Revolutionary War Soldier*

  • Born: 16 Oct 1760 in Rockingham County, Virginia
  • Married:  Anna Catherine Fudge in 1785 in Virginia
  • Died: 18 Oct 1837 in Peterstown, Monroe County (West) Virginia
  • Age: 77 years and 2 days
  • Cause of Death: unknown
  • Buried: Peterstown Cemetery, Rich Creek, Giles County, (West) Virginia
  • Parents: possibly (no sources found to confirm) John Jacob Peters and Elizabeth Simms

Hannah Ball

  • Born:
  • Married: William Gonoe on 18 Feb 1812 in Monroe County, (West) Virginia
  • Died: 1823
  • Age:
  • Cause of Death: unknown
  • Buried: Peter’s Cemetery, Bozoo, Monroe County, West Virginia
  • Parents: Joseph and Kesiah Ball
  • Note: I’m starting to believe that there were two Hannah Ball’s in the same area at the same time. My Hannah and another woman who was probably an aunt. There is a Hannah Ball listed as the head of household in both the 1810 and 1820 census records.  She had several children and in 1812 my Hannah married and was known as Hannah Gonoe the rest of her life.  When my Hannah married in 1812 she had a permission slip from her parents to marry. That wasn’t customary for a 27 year old woman, which would have been her age given the date of birth that most people have in their family trees. I’ve not seen any sources to verify that date of birth.

Possible Children of Hannah Ball and Christian Peters

  1. Joseph Ball (1802-1861)
  2. Nancy Ball (1802-1864)
  3. William Gonoe Ball (1813-1879)

Sources:

    1. 1810 US Census, Monroe, Monroe, Virginia; Roll: 70; Page: 568; Image: 0181430; Family History Library Film: 00015.
    2. 1820 US Census,  Peterstown, Monroe, Virginia; Page: 193; NARA Roll: M33_133; Image: 232.
    3. 1830 US Census, Giles, Virginia; Page: 232; NARA Series: M19; Roll Number: 190; Family History Film: 0029669.
    4. Final pension payment made to Christian Peters was in September 1837. Source: Ancestry.com. U.S. Pensioners, 1818-1872 [database on-line]. Original data: Ledgers of Payments, 1818-1872, to U.S. Pensioners Under Acts of 1818 Through 1858 From Records of the Office of the Third Auditor of the Treasury, 1818-1872; (National Archives Microfilm Publication T718, 23 rolls); Records of the Accounting Officers of the Department of the Treasury, Record Group 217; National Archives, Washington, D.C.
    5. Abstract of Graves of Revolutionary Patriots [database on-line]. Ancestry.com. Original data: Hatcher, Patricia Law. Abstract of Graves of Revolutionary Patriots.Vol. 1-4. Dallas, TX, USA: Pioneer Heritage Press, 1987.
    6. Find A Grave Memorial# 21424645, Christian Peters
    7. Find A Grave Memorial# 21415741, Anna Katherine Fudge Peters
    8. U.S., Sons of the American Revolution Membership Applications, 1889-1970 [database on-line]. Ancestry.com. SAR Membership Number: 74193.
    9. U.S. and International Marriage Records, 1560-1900 [database on-line]. Ancestry.com. Original data: This unique collection of records was extracted from a variety of sources including family group sheets and electronic databases. Originally, the information was derived from an array of materials including pedigree charts, family history articles, queries. (Note: Reference only – this is not a primary source).
    10. U.S., Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty-Land Warrant Application Files, 1800-1900 [database on-line]. Ancestry.com.  Survivor’s Pension Application File, Archive Publication Number M804, Archive Roll Number 1917. Total pages in packet 38.
      Original data: Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty-Land Warrant Application Files (NARA microfilm publication M804, 2,670 rolls). Records of the Department of Veterans Affairs, Record Group 15. National Archives, Washington, D.C.
    11. Find A Grave Memorial# 5445071, H. Gonoe (Hannah Ball Gonoe)
    12. Marriage Bond posted by William Gonoe and Joseph Ball for the marriage of William Gonoe and Hannah Ball. Accompanied by a permission slip for Hannah to marry William. This permission slip was signed by Joseph Ball, Kesiah Ball and C. Peters.
    13. History of Peterstown, (West) Virginia

Responses

  1. Keep working the DNA with Ancestry as they will keep updating you. I also am hopeful of getting a breakthrough with them. Best of luck to you.

  2. Thank you. DNA has been very helpful in other branches. Hopefully as more people take the test, we’ll be able to put more pieces together. Good luck to you also.

    • Hi I’m kinda in the same spot as you with Christian peters and Hannah Ball. I am told Christian is my 5th great grandfather. Ok let me just first of all say I’m no expert at this just going by ancestry but it said Christians father is Johannes peters (1720-1801) now on a family member of mines account they trace that Sal the way back to Peter Petri (1620-1712) he would supposedly be my 9th great grandfather from germany. Now if I dig deeper I find kings and queens and I think I was lost some where in the 5-9 hundreds literally lost I even considered devoting a entire wall in my home to this project but I’m so sceptical beings though my first unsure branch off was Nancy ball and Hannah ball. If I dont make since sorry I been online hours I’m going cross eyed trying to explain and read info so anyway Nancy Virginia Ball (by the way my sister was even named Virginia) daughter of Hannah is supposedly my 4th great grandmother she married Vincent Phillips in 1822 (By the way thats my last name Phillips )they went on to have a son supposedly Clarkson Prince Phillips who is my 3rd great grandfather he was born November 1st 1835 -8-16-1913 Raleigh county west Virginia ( by the way later thats where my father was born) he had a son Charles J.Phillips 1-24-1865 -12-13-1890 in Raleigh WV hes my 2nd grandfather he went on to have lonnie jackson Phillips 3-22-1886 Raleigh WV – 9-3-1943 Terry WV so hes my great grandfather and wow I just realized he and my daughter have the same birthday so he went on to have my paternal grandfather Charles Jackson Phillips born 1917 in WV went by (Jack) he was a red head btw and so is my son Jack Married Violet Virginia Ayers and they had my father Leonard Ray Phillips who married my mother Elizabeth who had me Nicole Phillips so yeah if I can help in any way or maybe you can help me going forward from this i have lots of facts just cant get the right layout to understand it all lol I would sure appreciate it thanks my email is cocobear1321@gmail.com

  3. Hello, I asked The Legal Genealogist the following in an e mail.
    I have an ancestor Christian Peters b.1760 Virginia and died 1837 in Monroe County, Virginia. His information was changed on familysearch.org. I have been investigating the information that I have found on the website. The information on the website has that he is the father of another woman’s children and her name is Hannah Ball. .All of her children. I did a google search about him and his illegitimate children. No documentation that he is the father of those children. There is a post on the internet that he signed the bond for her to marry. The wording is unusual also. I am thinking that he signed the bond as a witness. The bond is on the West Virginia archives web site. I have typed it her for your convenience. Christian Peters was a prominent pioneer of the county. I think that it is interesting that the word intermarry was used. What is your opinion?

    Bond
    I do hereby certify that I have given my consent for my daughter Hannah Ball to intermarry with William Ganoe given under my hand this 17th day of February 1812.
    her
    Teste Joseph Ball Kesiah Ball
    C. Peters mark

    Her reply
    The wording is absolutely standard for the time and place. This is not a marriage bond. It’s simply the consent of the mother to the marriage of the daughter. The word intermarry is standard, nothing unusual about it. C. Peters and Joseph Ball are witnessing the signature of Kesiah Ball.

    In my honest opinion: I don’t think that Christian Peters is the father of Hannah Balls children. This is the 1800’s so Christian may have been a friend of the family or just at the courthouse that day. He was in the courthouse a lot as well as his brother John. I have found a lot of times that they were taken to court about various things.
    Hope this helps.

  4. Hi,
    My great, great grandfather was Jacob Peters who married Rachel Childress (Childers). Until recently I did not have an idea about Jacob’s parents. Ancestry recently added a feature called ThruLines to their genetic analysis, which seems helpful. By this, I found I have numerous DNA relatives that are descendents of seven of Christian Peters’ known or suspected children, including numerous (20) descendents of Nancy Ball. Because of the intermarriage of families in the area, it is possible that these cousins are from others in their respective lineages. However, it seems most likely to me that Jacob Peters, who married Rachel Childress, was a son of Christian Peters, and that Christian also fathered Nancy Ball.

  5. Hi Beth! Thank you for the wealth of information you’ve gathered and shared. Through my research, it looks like Christian Peters and Hannah Ball could potentially be my 5th great grandparents through their (possible) daughter, Nancy Ball. I’d love to be able to connect with you and ask a few questions! -RF


Leave a comment

Categories