Posted by: Beth | May 15, 2012

MRIN-57 Isaac Willoughby and Elizabeth Willoughby

Isaac Willoughby and Elizabeth Willoughby

My 5th great grandparents

MRIN-57

Isaac Willoughby *Centenarian*

  • Born: about 1750 in North Carolina
  • Married: Elizabeth Willoughby on 22 Aug 1792 in Windsor, Bertie County, North Carolina. Shortly after their marriage they moved to Jackson County, Tennessee
  • Died: after 1851 in Jackson County, Tennessee. He shows in the 1850 census as 100 years old. He does appear in the 1851 Voter’s List for Jackson County, Tennessee. He is not present in the 1860 census records.
  • Buried: unknown location in Jackson County, Tennessee
  • Cause of Death: unknown, most likely from natural causes being that he was over 100 years old when he died
  • Parents: unknown

Elizabeth Willoughby

  • Born: unknown
  • Married: Isaac Willoughby on 22 Aug 1792 in Windsor, Bertie County, North Carolina. Shortly after their marriage they moved to Jackson County, Tennessee
  • Died: unknown
  • Buried: unknown, presumably in Jackson County, Tennessee
  • Cause of Death: unknown
  • Parents: unknown

Their Children

  1. Isaac Willoughby Jr
  2. James Willoughby
  3. Jefferson Willoughby
  4. Davidson Willoughby

Sources:

    1. North Carolina Historical and Genealogical Register, Volume II, Abstract of Bertie County Marriage Bonds, Page 367 
    2. 1830 Census Jackson County, Tennessee
    3. 1840 Census Jackson County, Tennessee
    4. 1850 Census Jackson County, Tennessee
    5. 1851 Voters List Jackson County, Tennessee
Responses

  1. Beth, I am Daphene Willoughby and have been trying to trace Willoughby family in TN and NC since early 1980’s without a lot of luck going backwards.
    This is my late husband’s family. The earliest known is Isaac Willoughby, of Smith County, TN, born ca 1800 in NC. Some think that he is your Isaac, Sr’s son, I still am not sure, but open to proof.
    odhwill@gmail.com

  2. Hi Daphene,
    I’m sorry for the late reply. I haven’t had much time to work on this much in the last couple of months. Unfortunately, I don’t think that I have anything to help you with that line at the moment. If you have Ancestry.com you are more than welcome to check out my family tree there, maybe there is something in there that could help you with your search? http://trees.ancestry.com/tree/34481406/family

  3. Beth,
    I am new to blogs, so didn’t see your post. That is the problem in early TN records, they are either missing or incomplete. We think Isaac had a brother,
    Andrew, who stayed in Smith County and KY. He died fairly young. He married an Everett. Jack Willoughby of CA is researching this line. Do you have any more of Isaac, Sr’s children’s names?

    • Sorry Daphene, I looked into other Willoughby family trees to see if they may have more information that what I have listed above, but they all seem to have the same information. We don’t know anything about Isaac Willoughby Sr.’s parents or siblings at this point. A couple of us have taken the AncestryDNA test and are hoping to find some new information in that area. Sadly, anyone that I have matched with that had the Willoughby name in their family tree has not responded to me. One of them looked like they could really help, but we matched with a couple of other unrelated surnames also. I can’t get a reply from that person.
      Let me give you this website

      http://www.willoughbysite.com/

      There is a lot of research there and she is very diligent in trying to make sure all content is correct. Many of us have donated to this site. You may find something there that can help you.
      Please let me know what you find. I’ll be sure to keep an eye out the information and people you have told me about.
      Happy Hunting 🙂

  4. Hello, I came across this while researching my family tree. My ggggrandfather’s name was George Washington Wade born 1824 in N Carolina, I have found his first wife was a Willoughby, daughter of Isaac Willoughby, born in N Carolina. I am thinking it was Isaac Jr’s daughter because of the dates I found on your blog here. (I don’t have first name or date of marriage), and they had three children: Mary Janie Wade, Letha Wade, and James Frederick Wade (any of these familiar to you?). I have not found what happened to his first wife, looks like he moved to TN with the three children because on an 1850 census for Jackson County, TN, (I was born in TN and that is where all my family lives) he was 26yo, and the household consisted of the 3 children I listed, ages 8,6, and 2, himself, his father (misspelled on census it was actually Downey Wade not Dowery), his mother Martha, and a Rebecca Malone 20yo and a baby boy named Gabrel who was 1yo (from what I have found, my ancestors got around and those two may have been his gf and child out of wedlock, but just a guess LOL). But his first wife is not on there and he remarried sometime after 1847 (I think more like after 1850 because their first child was born in 1855 and the mentioned 1850 census shows no Mary except the 8yo daaughter) to Mary Hardcastle and out of their 3 children, my gggrandmother Martha B Wade born 1864, according to my family tree.Boy this is confusing!! My plan was to try and find our Native American heritage which we all think comes from the Wade’s, but that is what I am trying to figure out. Do you know the names of Isaac Jr’s children? I would like to know the name of my ggggrandfather’s first wife that was from N Carolina. Thanks, Terry

    • Hi Terry, sorry it took so long to get back with you. I’ve had no time lately to get on here. Hopefully that’s over with for awhile.

      I’ll check my records, but off of the top of my head I think that I only had the names of sons. Finding the name of a woman pre-1850 in most states is challenging if nothing else. With the added info you provided, hopefully it will help find some more info. I’ll keep you posted if I find anything


Leave a Reply

Categories

