Posted by: Beth | May 8, 2012

MRIN-26 Jefferson Willoughby and Elizabeth Dockery

Jefferson Willoughby and Elizabeth Dockery

My 4th great grandparents

MRIN-26

Jefferson Willoughby

    • Born: about 1805 in Jackson County, Tennessee
    • Married: Elizabeth Dockery about 1829 in Tennessee
    • Died: between 1850-1860 in Butler County, Kentucky. Jefferson appears in the 1850 census. His wife is listed as a widow in the 1860 census.
    • Buried: unkown
    • Cause of Death: unknown
    • Parents: disputed between two Willoughby families.
      1. Isaac and Elizabeth Willoughby from North Carolina who migrated to Tennessee. There is not very much information on them other than a partially transcribed marriage record and census records that date back so far that only Isaac is actually named in them. Everyone else is just counted in groups by sex, color and age. Example: 2 white females between 14 and 19 years of age. I haven’t yet begun to research what sources are available in North Carolina.
      2. John Willoughby from New Hampshire. The NH line is traced back several more generations. John’s father, Isaac Willoughby (not the one above) was a documented Revolutionary War Soldier. This family is also beautifully preserved in some amazingly old and well taken care of New England cemeteries and town records. Because of all of this, I would love to say this is our line, and we might find that true the further back we trace. But, I don’t believe this is the case with Jefferson. He just didn’t quite fit in right. In census records, Jefferson always stated that his parents were born in NC. There are no known records to give a definite answer to whom his parents were. We are left with taking all the sources we can find and making an educated decision based on what we put together from them. Those sources lead me to 1. Isaac and Elizabeth Willoughby of North Carolina

Elizabeth Dockery

      • Born: sometime between 1808 and 1818. She gives inconsistent ages in various census records
      • Married: Jefferson Willoughby about 1829 in Tennessee
      • Died: between 1881 and 1899 in Butler County, Kentucky. She appears in the 1880 census, the 1890 census was destroyed and she does not show in the 1900 census.
      • Buried: unknown
      • Cause of Death: unknown
      • Parents: unknown. NOTE: 05 May 2012 – Until just a few days ago, I had only the information that was shared with me by other researchers who believed that Elizabeth may have been Native American. No tangible sources have ever been found to back up or deny this theory. Someone, somewhere was unable to read a handwritten document containing Elizabeth’s surname. They thought that it may have said “Darkhorse”. I believe that was where the idea that she was Native American came from.  I would love to know what that document was and look at it for myself. However, the few documents that relate to her that I have seen counts her as a white female. Last night I found a death certificate for one of her children. She was named as Elizabeth Dockery (hard to read handwriting could be mistaken for something similar to Darkhorse). Her name was given by her grandson, who may have very well known her personally. I have to use this information as the only primary source I have for her at this time. Some may disagree with me, and I am not saying this is correct, only that this is where my research leads me, but I am keeping an open mind either way.

Their Children

  1. Isaac Patrick Willoughby
  2. James H. Willoughby
  3. Polly Willoughby
  4. Lucinda Willoughby
  5. Davidson Willoughby
  6. Robert Willoughby
  7. Nancy Willoughby
  8. Cader Willoughby

Sources: Coming Soon


Responses

  1. I have Dark Horse Dockery as the father of Elizabeth born 1808?

    • Hi Lori,
      I also had “Dark Horse” as the father of Elizabeth. After doing much research I truly believe that the name “Dark Horse” came from a bad transcription of a hard to read census record. Here is a copy and paste from some information I have posted above that explains why I do not believe “Dark Horse” is accurate.
      “NOTE: 05 May 2012 – Until just a few days ago, I had only the information that was shared with me by other researchers who believed that Elizabeth may have been Native American. No tangible sources have ever been found to back up or deny this theory. Someone, somewhere was unable to read a handwritten document containing Elizabeth’s surname. They thought that it may have said “Darkhorse”. I believe that was where the idea that she was Native American came from. I would love to know what that document was and look at it for myself. However, the few documents that relate to her that I have seen counts her as a white female. Last night I found a death certificate for one of her children. She was named as Elizabeth Dockery (hard to read handwriting could be mistaken for something similar to Darkhorse). Her name was given by her grandson, who may have very well known her personally. I have to use this information as the only primary source I have for her at this time. Some may disagree with me, and I am not saying this is correct, only that this is where my research leads me, but I am keeping an open mind either way.”

  2. James Buck willoughby is my grandfather. His wife was. Mary Isidore willoughby. Mary father was Issac Vetetoe and her mother was Rachel oldham. I am 88 years old and I remember her.

  3. James Buck Willoughby was my gggrandfather my ggrandfather was William Wiley Willoughby my grandfather was Jesse Robert Willoughby my father was Robert Levi Willoughby my name is Richard Allen Willoughby my Email is grandparich64@gmail.com any corospondence is welcome

    • Hi there Richard. Thank you for sharing your line. It looks like we are 4th cousins. I added your line to my tree and if all worked as it should, I also sent you and invite to view my family tree at Ancestry.com

  4. Death Certificate of Decatur Willoughby DOB Nov 11 1847 Died Oct 27 1921 lists Jefferson Willoughby born Tenn. and Ealiza(This is how the first name looks) Dockery born Ky as parents. Informant appears to be a family member name possibly “Newel ” Willoughby and the certificate is signed by a G B Dockery.


Leave a Reply

Categories

